Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Centre (CISLAC) with support from the UK Department for International Development (DFID) funded Voices for Change programme held a One Day Consensus Building Summit for male political leaders on women political participation in Kaduna State. The Summit held in Asaa Pyramid Hotel on 4th November, 2014, was attended by over 60 participants from various political parties including PDP, I.D, APGA, MPPP, APC, SDP, LP, APA, NNPP, AD, PPA, ADC, PPP, UDP as well as INEC, developmental partner, civil society and the media. After exhaustive deliberations on the aim of the Summit which is to harness the support of male political stakeholders and leaders to become change agents that will stir the current of behavioral changes that will affect the lives of our women and girls, we, the participants:

Recognise that gender equality is an imperative for progress on social and economic emancipation and development in societies across world.

Also recognize that women constitute more than half of the population in Kaduna State, having their own right with potential, wisdom, talents and skill that they can contribute to develop the State.

Express our deep concern about glaring gender gaps in political structures and processes including low numbers of women in political party decision making structures; limited political skills among women in politics; unclear rules and procedures on recruitment and conduct of primaries.

Note that although women have great responsibilities in upbringing of a healthy, solid society, but records the lowest rates of political participation in the country; and women in several occasions discriminate against women.
Also note that the 1999 Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria does not discriminate against women; and women’s roles in the society is socially and culturally determined.
Further note that every government is committed towards encouraging men and not women participation in politics as key political positions in the country are largely dominated by men; and women are excluded from power structure both in traditional and political key positions.
Commit to take into serious consideration, implementation of at least 35% Affirmative Action for Women at all levels to encourage appreciative participation of women as leaders and decision-makers in households, communities, and in the public and private spheres in the nation’s political decision making in 2015 and beyond.

Affirm that education remains the key tool for change and to ensure women self-development and participation in politics.

Endorse free education for women to ensure they are well-informed and encourage their full-fledged participation in political affairs; and unite in solidarity, regardless of our status, differences and political affiliations to lead the change we wish to see in Kaduna State.

Will ensure women, especially at the grassroots are properly educated to demand accountability and participate effectively in all political affairs in the country.

Shall effectively engage implementation of existing legislation to ensure equal opportunities for women in political affairs.

Will support re-distribution of power and removal of monetary requirement for participation in politics, primarily to encourage women participation in politics to ensure sustainable democracy.

Agreed to seek in-depth understanding on women needs and actualize findings therefrom.

We hereby nominate one participant from each party to commit to these actions on our behalves:
1. Name: Hassan Adamu
Political Party: Social Democratic Party
Position: State Chairman, Kaduna State

2. Name: Francis D. Kozaid
Political Party: APC
Position: Legal Adviser

3. Name: Bulus Ishaku
Political Party: PDP
Position: Stakeholder

4. Name: Usman Ibn Abdullahi Lapai
Organisation: Blue Print Newspaper
Position: Assistant Secretary, Correspondence Chapter

5. Name: Esther Bago
Organisation: INEC
Position: Head of Unit/Electoral Management

6. Name: Kabir A. Fada
Political Party: Independence Democrat
Position: State Chairman

7. Name: Kasim C. Balarabe
Political Party: PPA
Position: State Chairman

8. Name: A. S Maikudi
Political Party: United Democratic Party
Position: State Chairman

9. Name: Timothy Azubike
Political Party: APGA
Position: State Secretary

10. Name: Alh. Ibrahim A Suleiman
Political Party: African Democratic Congress
Position: Chairman

11. Name: Usman Bello
Political Party: Labour Party
Position: Youth Leader
12. Name: Dr. Sani Abdulkadir
Political Party: New Nigeria Peoples Party
Position: State Chairman

13. Name: Mr. Sam Kato
Political Party: Alliance for Democracy
Position: Chairman
14. Name: Joseph Tongor
Political Party: Mega Progressive People Party
Position: Chairman

2014-11-04T16:04:26+00:00November 4th, 2014|Categories: Communiques|0 Comments

Leave A Comment